Village of Byron Downtown Development Authority Minutes November 7, 2013

Meeting called to order at 6:00pm by President Musall

Present: Ray Ayotte, Julie Bowers, Jim Crain, Chris Dickinson, Phil Hathaway, Beverly Miller, Rick Musall, Trisha Murphy Alderman, Mike Rauch, Shirley Riley, Rob Vandemark. Absent: Vicki Murphy.

Swearing In of Members – Village Clerk Jim Crain swore in members of the Village of Byron Downtown Development Authority Board of Directors; Ray Ayotte, Julie Bowers, Chris Dickinson, Beverly Miller, Rick Musall, Trisha Murphy Alderman, Mike Rauch and Rob Vandemark.

Phil Hathaway led discussion on setting annual meeting for the purpose of establishing posted meetings for the year and to elect officers. In addition to Board Directors, Officer Positions are Board Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, Treasurer and Recording Secretary. Treasurer and Recording Secretary can be internal or external.

It was decided the annual meeting should take place in January of each year, with the next annual meeting to be January 2015. Roberts Rules of Order are the guidelines for conducting meetings. All members were in agreement.

A reading of the proposed By-Laws was conducted. Crain to research liability coverage for DDA Board Members under Village of Byron policy with Insurance Agent Bob Bucko of The Steven's Group.

Vandemark moved, Ayotte seconded to accept the By-Laws as written. Discussion with regards to First Indemnification coverage under Village Insurance. Amended by Vandemark, seconded by Ayotte to use first Article X Indemnification. Roll Call – Ayes: Ayotte, Bowers, Dickinson, Miller, Murphy Alderman, Musall, Rauch, Vandemark. Nays: None. Absent: Murphy. 8-0 Passed

Musall moved, Miller seconded to nominate Rob Vandemark, Chairperson. All Ayes. Approved Miller moved, Musall seconded to nominate Mike Rauch, Vice Chairperson. All Ayes. Approved Murphy Alderman moved, Rauch seconded to nominate Beverly Miller, Treasurer. All Ayes. Approved Vandemark moved, Musall seconded to appoint Jim Crain as Recording Secretary. All Ayes. Approved

Terms of Office – Serving One Year Terms are Chris Dickinson and Beverly Miller. Serving Two Year Terms are Julie Bowers and Vicki Murphy. Serving Three Year Terms are Ray Ayotte and Tricia Murphy Alderman. Serving Four Year Terms are Mike Rauch and Rob Vandemark.

Christie Cook of Michigan Community Action Agency in Hillsdale had initially indicated she would be willing to write grants. Crain to provide contact information to Vandemark. Discussion regarding funds to be donated which are currently earmarked through the Chamber of Commerce for the specific purpose of funding a DDA. Need to know process. Will consult with Demis & Wenzlick for next meeting.

Hathaway explained need to appeal to State of Michigan relating to Low/Moderate Income thresholds for Village to qualify for grant funds. Most appeals successful, but data needed to support request.

Village of Byron Downtown Development Authority Minutes November 7, 2013

Next Meeting is Thursday 12-5-13 @ 6pm

Discussion on updating Web Page with DDA information. Riley explained issue with old web page now inactive, Village will need to pursue new approach to web based information. For now Village can send notice of DDA formation in upcoming water/sewer bills.

Hathaway explained issue with Block 15 downtown. State block grant cannot go through until Janelle's law suit is settled.

Crain to provide summary material in timeline from the previous year as it relates to downtown.

Vandemark thanked those in attendance and is looking forward to the opportunity to help shape the vision of the Byron Community.

Meeting adjourned at 7:22pm.

James Crain – Recording Secretary

Date

Rob Vandemark – Chairperson